Prime Minister Harris Calls on the Nation to Support the Newly Appointed Leaders of the Police High Command‏

Basseterre, St. Kitts, February 10, 2016 (SKNIS): Prime Minister, Dr. the Honourable Timothy Harris, is urging all citizens and residents of St. Kitts and Nevis to lend support to the newly appointed leaders of the High Command of the Royal St. Christopher and Nevis Police Force (RSCNPF).
“I call on all citizens and residents of St Kitts and Nevis to give the new High Command and the police in general their fullest support and cooperation,” Dr. Harris said. “If you have information on any crime, please report it.  Parents and guardians, we admonish you to guide, instruct, mentor and encourage your children and wards into being law-abiding, morally grounded citizens.  We need all to take a stand for justice, law and order.”
Prime Minister Harris used the opportunity to congratulate the top law enforcement officials.
“I congratulate and commend to you the people of Saint Christopher and Nevis these newly appointed leaders and policing flag bearers,” he said.  “I wish them every stellar success and I pledge every support possible as these officers make this Federation a safer and more law-abiding place in which to live, work, invest and play.”
He noted that a “vast majority of people will agree that the bright and talented officers deserve a fair chance to prove their mettle” at this particular time, stating that the Government has provided them with the opportunity to do so.
“These appointments would create vacancies in the ranks from which the new High Command has ascended,” the prime minister stated.  “A truly transparent process of selecting officers to fill these vacancies through promotion has been undertaken. Recommendations are being forwarded through the proper channels to the Police Service Commission for its consideration and determination.  In due course, the public will be advised of these new appointments.”
The new Police High Command was announced on Tuesday, February 09, and consists of Commissioner of Police, Ian Queeley, who has overall accountability for all policing matters. Deputy Commissioner of Police, Hilroy Brandy, has responsibility for the Service Improvement Directorate; Assistant Commissioner of Police, Terrance James, holds responsibility for Operations Directorate; Assistant Commissioner of Police, Andre Mitchell, has responsibility for the Crime Directorate and Assistant Commissioner of Police, Merclyn Hughes, has responsibility for Administration, Resources, Technology and Intelligence Directorate.

You might also like