Residents Asked to Nominate Remarkable Teens for 2016‏

Basseterre, St. Kitts, April 20, 2016 (SKNIS): Residents of St. Kitts and Nevis are again being tasked with the responsibility of selecting nominees for the most prestigious award geared towards youth.

The nomination process for the 25 Most Remarkable Teens in St. Kitts and Nevis will run to June 03. Youth Officer in the Department of Youth Empowerment, Sahira David, said persons should not wait to nominate youth who are making a difference in the lives of community members.

“Young people have gotten a lot of bad publicity over the years and the 25 Most Remarkable Teens award is one of those initiatives where we commend those that do wonderful work,” Ms. David said.

The annual recognition programme for persons aged 12 to 19 was introduced in St. Kitts and Nevis in 2011 by Connie Howard, a Peace Corp volunteer. Awards are presented in non-traditional categories such as Courage to Overcome, Spiritual Commitment, Civic Involvement, Citizenship, Leadership and others. Some of the more mainstream categories such as Music, Athletics and Visual Arts are also included.

Nomination packages have been sent to various high schools in St. Kitts and in Nevis. Ms. David, who is spearheading the event for 2016, said she intends to take the message directly to the people, to highlight the importance of nominating individuals.

“I will meet with the youth groups within each zone,” she said, referring to the department’s strategic grouping of communities around the country. “If I can get the help of the youth groups and they go throughout the communities and find these young people that will be brilliant.”

Nomination forms are also available at the Department of Youth Empowerment on Church Street. The deadline for nomination concludes on June 03, 2016. The award ceremony for the 25 Most Remarkable Teens in St. Kitts and Nevis is held traditionally in November when the Federation celebrates Youth Month. The ceremony is held in the National Assembly Chambers and presentations are made by parliamentary members.

Additional information is available by telephone 467-1395.

You might also like