2013 Nevis Culturama Festival central committee named

Recently elected Minister of Culture, the Honorable Mark AG Brantley, met with members of the newly appointed Nevis Culturama Festival Central Committee at the Conference Room of the Nevis Island Administration Building on Tuesday afternoon February 19th 2013.
In his remarks to the committee Minister Brantley underscored the importance of giving new life to Nevis’ Culturama Festival so that we can once again have a large influx of returning nationals to Nevis during the summer months. This he said can only be achieved if we stage a festival of class in 2013 and thereafter take the same momentum from 2013 into 2014 when Nevis Culturama Festival would celebrate its 40th anniversary.
Minister Brantley also stressed the importance of encouraging fringed activities which he said would add value and excitement to the overall Culturama experience and encourages visitors and returning nationals to want to come back to Culturama year after year. He further stated that the new Administration would be looking towards improving the physical appearance of and conditions at the main Culturama venues so that persons can be more comfortable while patronizing the events at these venues.
The members of the 2013 Nevis Culturama Festival Central Committee are:
  • Dr. Patricia Bartlette                                       Chair of the Central Committee
  •  Cavelle Powell and Garrett Skeete                Co-chair Ms Culture Pageants
  • Patricia Jeffers and Lloyd Lescott                  Co-chair Senior Kaiso Contest
  • Shirley Wilkes                                                 Mr and Ms Talented Youth Pageant
  • Livingston Liburd                                           Junior Kaiso Contest
  • Karen Amory                                                  Cultural Food Fair
  • Ricky Hill                                                        Street Activities
  • Tamica Lawrence                                            Ms Teen Nevis
  • Lorna Hunkins                                                Financial Controller
  • Keith Glasgow                                                Judges Coordinator
  • Joseph Liburd                                                 Director of Security
  • Abonaty Liburd                                              Executive Director, Marketing and Sponsorship
  • Jean Caines                                                     Secretary
Also present at the meeting was recently appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Nevis Cultural Development Foundation Mr. Keith “Dis and Dat” Scarborough.

You might also like