Antonio Liburd named Culturama 43 Chairperson

By Monique Washington

The Minister of Tourism, Hon Mark Brantley has revealed the new chairperson for Culturama 43 as Mr. Antonio “Abonaty” Liburd.

Culturama will be held under the theme “Our Festival our Legacy Nevis Culturama 43”

Liburd who is also the Executive Director of the Culturama Secretariat will be replacing Deborah Tyrell who severed as Culturama Chairperson from 2014-2016.

According to Hon Brantley “we have lost the services this year of Mrs.  Deborah Tyrell who acted in the past as our chairperson for Culturama .After discussion with the subcommittee we believe there is no better person  than Mr. Liburd and the committee certainly believes there is no better person  because of his knowledge of Culturama.”

Liburd thanked the Minister for naming him as the Chairman for Culturama 43 and gave “big thank you” to the committee that supported him. Liburd served as part of Culturama for the past 18 years and served as chairman in 1999 for Culturama 25.

Besides the change of Culturama’s chairperson a number of subcommittee heads have also changed. Returning are Bridgett Hunkins chair of Talented Youth pageant, Keith Glasgow chair for Senior Calypso and Shaquoa Flanders as Secretary. New comers Tesia Burton chair for Miss Cultural Queen competition, Warren Moving chair was Jr. Calypso, Itebulous Powell chair for  Soca, Hughie Sargeant marketing, Karen Amory chair for Arts, Craft Food Fair, Irvin Simmond chair Cultural village ,Wazin Richards chair Street Activity and Bacchanal corner, Roger Fyfield chair Adult Street Parade, Vernal Hanley financial aspect ,Sergeant Valentine Hodge in charge of security, Ernestine Rawlins representative Nevis Cultural Development Foundation. Currently there are no chairpersons for Miss Culture Swimwear and Mr. Kool competition and also the Jr. Street Parade. Both positions are current available.





You might also like