The British High Commission announces that the UK’s Chevening Scholarship scheme is open from 3 August 2015 for students wishing to study in the UK in the academic year 2016-2017.  Applications will be accepted online from nationals of Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean who wish to pursue fully funded postgraduate studies at any academic institution in the UK.

The Chevening Scholarships scheme is the global scholarship programme of the British government. The Scholarships are awarded to exceptional individuals with leadership potential and they enable recipients to study one-year Masters courses in a range of subjects at UK universities.  The Scholarships are funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and aim to support UK foreign policy priorities by creating lasting positive relationships with future leaders, influencers and decision makers.

The Chevening programme has for more than 30 years provided more than 44,000 Scholarships at Higher Education Institutions in the UK for postgraduate students or researchers from countries across the world. Chevening scholarships are prestigious and sought after awards aimed at extremely capable individuals who have already made an impact and are motivated to pursue a career that will take them to a position of leadership within their own country or region.

Kurlyn Merchant and Kimberley Evelyn were Chevening Scholars from St Kitts and Nevis 2014-15.  They will both be returning home soon.

Kimberley said: ‘My Chevening experience has been a remarkable one and I would strongly recommend that individuals apply to possibly be a part of a global community of academic excellence and take advantage of the prestigious opportunity that could be afforded to you.’

Kurlyn said: ‘My Chevening experience has allowed me the opportunity to pursue world-class postgraduate studies while securing lifelong friendships across the globe. ‘

Nationals of Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean should go to to register interest or apply. The opening date is 3 August and closing date is 3 November, after which no further applications will be accepted.

Nationals of the following countries are eligible to apply:

Antigua and Barbuda
Commonwealth of Dominica
St Kitts and Nevis
St Lucia
St Vincent and the Grenadines

You might also like