By:Curtis Morton

Defending champions in the Runako Morton/TDC Primary School Cricket league on Nevis, Charlestown Primary School, commenced the defence of the coveted title in grand style, on Thursday 23rd June.

They engaged the Jocelyn Liburd Primary School at the Cotton Ground playing field, in the first match of the league.

The CPS team batted first and on the back of an impressive and undefeated half a ton by Kenaicy Dorset, raced to 137 for 3 in their allotted 15 overs.

Lyne Smithen and skipper Akadianto Willet, also made useful contributions.

When the JLPS team batted, they were in dire straits from the very first over and soon there was a regular procession, back to the pavilion, as wicket after wicket fell.

Ticari Freeman was the lone stand out batsman, with a top score of sixteen in which he counted one huge maximum, over midwicket.

The wickets were shared evenly between the Charlestown bowlers, with at least four bowlers getting two wickets each.

Summarized scores: CPS-137 for 3 from 15 overs: Kenaicy Dorset 67*; Lyne Smithen36; Akadianto Willet 16

Nikolon Liburd 2 for 12; Jahmarley Lawrence 1 for 20

JLPS 52 all out-Ticari Freeman 16

You might also like