Cricket : IWPS Lock Out JLPS

Man of the match-Ajari Cornelius

As the Runako Morton/TDC Primary Schools’ Cricket tournament continued, the Ivor Walters Primary School (IWPS), engaged the Joycelyn Liburd Primary School (JLPS), at the E T Willet Park, on Monday 26th June.

It was a much-anticipated clash, as both teams were yet to get on the points table.

JLPS batted first and were immediately in trouble, losing wickets at regular intervals.

At the end of their allotted ten overs, they could only manage 38 runs.

The IWPS team, after an early stutter, stormed home in just five overs, for the loss of 2 wickets.

Summarized scores: JLPS 38 for 7 in 10 overs: Ryan Marchan 8; Andrew Elliot 6; 14 extras
Ajari Cornelius 3 for 10; Jarion Bramble 2 for 3

IWPS 39 for 2 in 5 overs: Ajari Cornelius 15*; 15 extras
Tyrese Freeman 1 for 0; Ryan Marchan 1 for 17

IWPS won by 8 wickets

Man of the match-Ajari Cornelius

Today will be a historic day in the tournament, as the first game of the day, will be played at the Zion Cricket field.

That match scheduled for 10 am will be between St. Thomas’ Primary and Joycelyn Liburd Primary.

This afternoon’s game is expected to draw a bumper crowd into the ET Willet Park, starting at 3.30 pm.

That is when the two teams at the top of the table, will face off.

Charlestown Primary will come up against the VOJN Primary School.

The match has been fixtured towards the end of the workday, so that parents and other cricket fans, can witness the game.

The remaining preliminary games will be played at the ET Willet Park as follows:

Thursday 29th June: IWPS v STPS

Friday 30th June: VOJN v STPS

Both will be morning games.

The grand final will be scheduled for sometime next week when the two top teams from the preliminary rounds will face off.

You might also like