Cricket : SDA Jets Crash Out to All Stars

It was a one-sided affair from start to finish.

Action in the ongoing T-20 tournament, being hosted by the Nevis Cricket Association, shifted to the ET Willet Park, on Sunday 15th November.

In-game one, Pennyless All-stars engaged SDA Jets.

PennylessAll Stars won the toss and elected to bat first.

Things started badly for the Jets, as debutant Teriko Browne, bowled an over which cost his team all of 15 runs, which included no fewer than 7 wides.  After the early loss of Jamie Cornelius, Ross Powell and Saeed Williams, proceeded to pepper the bowling attack to all parts of the Park, with Powell taking a particular liking to the off-spin of Skipper Curtis Morton Sr and literally knocked him out of the attack.

However, to their credit, the Jets had good spells from Wes Huggins, Carlon Smithen and Nevis’ female off-spinner, Martha Dookhan was a revelation.  She had Ross Powell caught on 95 and had Carlon Bowens Tuckett mis-stumped very early in his innings.

The Jets in response started with a flurry with Smithen and Morton crashing early boundaries, but after Morton was run out, the task was a bit too much for Smithen, who carried his hand for another fine half-century.

The Jets eventually folded for 104.

Summarized scores:

Pennyless All Stars 206 for 5 from 19 overs: Ross Powell 95; Saeed Williams 45; Carlon Bowens-Tuckett 20*; Justin Anderson 16*
Martha Dookhan 1 for 21; Wes Huggins 1 for 32; Carlon Smithen 1 for 33
SDA Jets 104 all out in 18.4 overs: Carlon Smithen 54; 25 extras
Justin Anderson 2 for 2: Jaden Carmichael 2 for 13; Jamie Cornelius 2 for 14; Onarje Amory and Akadianto Willet 1 wicket each

Pennyless All Stars won by 102 runs

You might also like