Cricket : St. Thomas’ Primary Secures Coveted 3rd Spot

STPS Celebrates

The St. Thomas’ Primary School secured the coveted third spot trophy, when they defeated the Joycelyn Liburd Primary School at the ET Willet Park, on Thursday 6th July.

This was the Runako Morton/TDC Primary Schools cricket tournament culminated with the match-up for 3rd and 4th place and the grand finals.

Elijah Clarke-MVP

The much improved St. Thomas’ Primary team batted first and it was a stroke of genius by Coach Derrick Parry, which reaped great dividends.

He asked Delijah Clarke, more known for his academics, athletics and Football skills, to bat at number three.

Clarke swung to leg consistently and scored a number of boundaries in top scoring in his team’s total of 84.

The JLPS team started well, but after the opening stand was broken, the innings fell away rapidly, with Clarke also taking one of the tournament’s top catches.

The St. Thomas’ team and its supporters celebrated.

Summarized scores: STPS 84 for 3 for 10 overs: Delijah Clarke 29*; Tayshawn Bolus 12
Ezekiel Douglas 1 for 9; Ryan Marchan 1 for 18
JLPS 52 for 7 from 10 overs: Tyrese Freeman 18; Nyanjah Liburd 14
Josh, Honders-Maynard and Bolus 2 wickets each

STPS won by 32 runs

Man of the match-Delijah Clarke

You might also like