Dieppe Bay Primary wins SKNYPA D.E.W Effective Speaking Competition

Basseterre, St. Kitts– As a result of six (6) Schools participating in the Desmond E. Ward Effective Speaking Competition, the Dieppe Bay Primary School emerged the winner. The competition was held hosted by the St. Kitts National Parliament Association in honor of Mr. Desmond Eli Ward, a co- founder of the prestigious youth group that has been around for over ten (10) years.

The competition which was held on Monday 15th, 2016 at the Sir Cecil Jacob Auditorium, at the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank, saw the students of the participating schools competing in two segments; Prepared speech and Impromptu speech.

The winning school, Dieppe Bay Primary School was represented by Niran Warde and Jahzara Greene. Additionally, Greene captured the award for the Best Impromptu Speaker. 2nd place school was snatched, by the Dr. William Connor Primary School with representation by Hadassah Cuffy and Daniel Thompson, with Cuffy walking away with the Best Prepared Speaker Award. The other participating schools were the Newton Ground Primary School, Saddlers Primary School, Edgar T. Morris Primary School and the Beach Allen Primary School.

The Minister of Education, Hon. Shawn Richards, was on hand to present the trophy to winning school and gave brief remarks at the climax of the event, where he congratulated the participants, the teachers and the organizing committee of SKNYPA on the success of the competition.

SKNYPA wishes to express profound thanks to TDC, FLOW, Harpers Office Depot , Rotary Club of Liamuiga and K R Architectural Services for their contribution towards the success of the competition.

You might also like