Douglas re-elected Labour Party leader for 28th consecutive year

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS – Former St. Kitts and Nevis Prime Minister the Rt. Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas has been re-elected National Political Leader of the St. Kitts-Nevis Labour Party for the 28th consecutive year.
Dr. Douglas, who is presently Leader of the Opposition, was first elected in 1989. He was re-elected un-opposed at the 84th Annual Conference on Sunday at the Royal St Kitts Hotel Conference Room.
Delegates also accepted the nomination unopposed of Dr. Earl Asim Martin as Deputy Political Leader. The Hon. Marcella Liburd was re-elected un-opposed as Party Chairperson.
The new National Vice Chairman, elected unopposed is Dr Terrance Drew, who replaced Sen. the Hon Nigel Carty, who did not seek re-election.
Re-elected unopposed were National Secretary Mrs. Diana Williams-Humphrey and National Assistant Secretary, Ms. Karen Crossman. The new National Treasurer is Mr. Shavon Douglas.
The other members of the National Executive are Ms. Thamesha Fyfield, who received 149 votes; Ms Lesleigh Joseph (Lexi Peets), who received 151 votes and Ambassador Kenny Douglas, 193 votes.
Representatives of the Constituencies are Rudolph Morton (St. Christopher 2); Vincia Herbert (St. Christopher 3); Carl Lake, (St. Christopher 5) and Rubie Taylor (St. Christopher 6).
 St. Christopher 1, 4, 7 and 8 and Young Labour and Labour Women will name their representatives later.
The new auditor is Ms. Gweneth Byron who replaced Mr. Frank Farrell.

You might also like