Draw Made for Zoning of Primary Schools Football Tournament

A brief but significant ceremony was held at the Education Department, on Thursday 5th October.

The official draw was made to determine the zoning for the upcoming annual Primary Schools Football championship.

The invocation was done by Alex Claxton and the ceremony was ably chaired by Director of Sports, Jamir Claxton.

Making brief remarks, was Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education and Sports, Mr. Kevin Barrett.

He pointed to the fact that the Ministries of Education and Sports fully endorse such tournaments because they aim for the holistic development of the students.

International FIFA referee, Kimbel Ward facilitated the draw.

The two top teams of last year, Charlestown Primary and St. James’ Primary, were placed in opposite zones and then the draw was made to determine into which zone the other teams would fit.

After the draw, the nine competing teams are placed as follows:

Zone A: Charlestown Primary; Maude Cross Preparatory; Ivor Walters Primary; St. Thomas’ Primary and VOJN Primary

Zone B: St. James’ Primary; Nevis Academy; Joycelyn Liburd Primary and Elizabeth Pemberton Primary.

Director of Sports, Jamir Claxton, described Zone A, as the ‘group of death,’ as it contains four former champion teams, excluding VOJN.

The tournament is scheduled to commence on Wednesday 18th October, with an opening ceremony at 2 p.m. and matches commencing at 3 p.m.

All matches will be played at the ET Willet Park, with one starting at 3 p.m. and the other at 4 p.m. on match days.

You might also like