Dwayne Smith to lead West Indies A in T20s


KINGSTOWN, St Vincent — Four members of the West Indies World T20 champion team have been named in the West Indies A Team to face Sri Lanka A Team in two T20 matches this week at Arnos Vale Sports Complex.

Openers Dwayne Smith and Lendl Simmons; allrounder Andre Russell; and leg-spinner Samuel Badree were part of the squad that beat Sri Lanka to win the prestigious ICC World T20 Trophy at the R Premadasa Stadium last October. The quartet will form the main part of the Windies A Team when the matches at played on Tuesday and Wednesday. First ball in both matches is 2 pm (1 pm Jamaica Time).

The 13-man squad includes four other players who have represented the West Indies in T20 Internationals. These are: fast bowler Shannon Gabriel, off-spinner Ashley Nurse, top-order batsman Nkrumah Bonner and batting allrounder Christopher Barnwell.

The other members of the squad are: seam bowler Kevin Cooper, who has performed with distinction for Trinidad and Tobago; wicket-keeper Chadwick Walton, who played two Test matches back in 2009; rookie allrounder Kyle Mayers; left-arm fast bowler Sheldon Cotterell, and middle-order batsman Keddy Lesporis – both graduates of the Sagicor High Performance Centre.

Full Squad:

Dwayne Smith (Captain)
Samuel Badree
Christopher Barnwell
Nkrumah Bonner
Kevon Cooper
Sheldon Cotterell
Shannon Gabriel
Keddy Lesporis
Kyle Mayers
Ashley Nurse
Andre Russell
Lendl Simmons
Chadwick Walton (wicket-keeper)

Match Schedule

Wednesday, June 19: 2nd T20 at Arnos Vale – 2pm

You might also like