Easterns Are the Under 21 T-20 Champions

The T-20 cricket championships hosted by the Youth and Sports department, concluded on Saturday 26th May, the highly anticipated finals between Easterns and Windward.
Easterns won the toss and opted to bat first and got off to a rollicking start, compliments of the aggressive Jamie Cornelius.
However, once he departed, bowled by young Ragbeer, wickets fell at regular intervals.
Then came an enterprising partnership between Skipper Saeed Williams and the ultra-aggressive Javani Tyson. They put 80 more runs on the tins, before they were separated.

The Easterns team eventually getting to an imposing 194 for 7, from their allotment of 20 overs.

The Windward team would have been depending on ace batsman, Shevon Jeffers, to get them off to a great start, but he went for a three balls golden duck and the team never recovered.
Compound that with Marcus Dubberry going caught at the wicket and the Windward team virtually imploded.
They limped to a sorry 52 for 9 in 9.2 overs.
Certainly not the finals that the fans were hoping for.

Summarized scores: Easterns 194 for 7 from 20 overs:
Saeed Williams 46;

Jamie Cornelius 42;

Javani Tyson 40

V. Ragbeer 3 for 27;

Theron Bussue 1 for 15;

Marcus Dubberry 1 for 53

Windward 52 for 9 from 9.2 overs:
Marcus Dubberry 10;

Patrice Nisbett 8;

V. Ragbeer 8

L. Bartlette 4 for 31;

Malik Semper 2 for 18;

Jamie Cornelius 1 for 0

Easterns won by 142 runs
Man of the Match: Lazari Bartlett

You might also like