Empire Beats Pennyless All Stars In T-20 Finals

The Development Bank sponsored T-20 Cricket tournament on Nevis, climaxed on the evening of Saturday 30th December, at the ET Willett Park.

A sizeable crowd was on hand to witness the encounter between Empire and Pennyless All stars, in the grand finale.

Pennyless All-stars batted first and their two heroes of the T-20 Keith Arthurton T-20 finals in St.Kitts, recently, in Jamie Cornelius and Ross Powell, were off to yet another good start.

However, Cornelius perished on 32 and that allowed for brief cameos from Wasim ‘Boom Boom’ Mintos and Akito Willett.

Pennyless All-stars posted a competitive 140 for 3 in their allotted 20 overs.

The Empire team wobbled early in the chase, as Tyson and Manners both went cheaply. However, Andre Browne and Nelson Bolan teamed up in an aggressive partnership, which all but took the game away for the All-stars.

However, Jamie Cornelius got Andre Browne to run past a delivery and the spectators were able to witness first hand, the smartest of stumpings by the youthful Carlon Tuckett. His glove work was excellent throughout the innings.

Nelson Bolan soon went caught and bowled to young Carmichael-soft dismissal and the All-stars team was chirping once again.

Chants of “Can’t beat we,” were heard from the field.

It took a superlative innings from the experienced Justin Athanaze, in partnership with the level headed Joel Simmonds, to steer the ship home for the Empire team.

Interestingly, President of the club and new Sports Minister on Nevis, Hon. Eric Evelyn, was on hand to celebrate with his team.

Empire, the 2017 T-20 champs on Nevis!

Summarized scores: Pennyless All stars-140 for 3 in 20 overs: Ross Powell 51*; Jamie Cornelius 32; Akito Willett 15*; Wasim Mintos 15

 Tewan Prentice 2 wickets; Trevier Smithen 1

Empire 143 for 7: Justin Athanaze 40*; Andre Browne 27; Nelson Bolan 25; Joel Simmonds 23*

Jamie Cornelius 3 wickets; Jaden Carmichael 2; Sharma 1; Wasim Mintos 1

You might also like