EPPS Outs JLPS’ Lights to Claim Finals’ Berth

The second semifinal encounter in the 2018 edition of the Runako Morton/TDC sponsored Primary Schools Cricket tournament, took place at the ET Willet Park on Wednesday 11th July.
A sizeable crowd was on hand, to witness the highly anticipated encounter.
The Joycelyn Liburd Primary (JLPS) had come into the semis, undefeated in the preliminary encounters, while the Elizabeth Pemberton Primary school (EPPS), had lost one encounter.

JLPS won the toss and elected to field first.
The EPPS team lost some early wickets and struggled throughout, but young Saddler who batted at number three, held the innings together and was last man out from the final delivery, when he was stumped.
Aided by some crucial extras, he helped his team to a competitive 69 from their 15 allotted overs.
JLPS in response got into early trouble, as young Lawrence captured 2 wickets in his first over and the spritely Morgan, with his medium pacers, added to the JLPS agony with a couple wickets of his own.

At one point, the shocked JLPS team was on 8 runs for 5 wickets and it appeared as if Hunkins’ or Elliot’s funeral homes, were leading the procession.
They were eventually bowled out for a paltry 21 runs and oh how the EPPS team celebrated!

They had secured a spot in the grand finals.
On the day, they bowled in good areas, fielded like a champion team and virtually gave away no extras.
The grand finals is now set for the ET Willet Park, this coming Friday 13th July, when the EPPS team will engage the Ivor Walters Primary (IWPS) for the grand trophy and of course, bragging rights.
The match will commence at 2.30 pm and a bumper crowd is expected to witness the encounter.

You might also like