ICC Board Meeting Concludes In Dubai

International Cricket Council

Media Release

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates (ICC) — The ICC Board held its second quarterly meeting of 2015 at the ICC Headquarters in Dubai on 16 April.

Among the decisions made and reports received were:

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015
Hosts Australia and New Zealand were congratulated on their successful staging of an event described by the ICC Chairman, Mr. Narayanaswami Srinivasan as the ‘most popular in history’.

The ICC CWC 2015 set a new attendance record of 1.1 million spectators with 10 matches attended by crowds in excess of 40,000 and over 94,000 people attending the final.

It was broadcast by 44 licensees in seven languages across 220 territories and covered in the host countries by 1,210 rights holding media and 1385 non-rights holding media.

The event website attracted 36.1 million unique visitors accumulating 304 million page views and the official app attracted 4.51 million downloads, making it the number one ranked sports app in 48 countries.

Mr Srinivasan also thanked the ICC staff, Match Officials, Local Organising Committee and all of the participating teams for their contributions to the event and congratulated Australia on its victory.

A more detailed report on all aspects of the ICC Cricket World Cup will be considered at the next ICC Board meeting in June.

Sri Lanka Cricket
The ICC Board considered the implications of the appointment of an Interim Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) by the Government of Sri Lanka and whether this may be a breach of the ICC’s constitution which requires free and fair elections for office-bearers within Member boards.

After considerable discussion, and without making a final decision on the matter, the ICC Board supported a recommendation of the ICC Governance Review Committee that it should write to the Sports Minister of Sri Lanka seeking a full and proper explanation of its intervention that prima facie puts SLC in breach of the ICC’s constitution.

ICC President
The Board accepted the resignation of former President Mr Mustafa Kamal, effective from 2 April and confirmed that no replacement would be appointed for the remaining weeks of Mr Kamal’s term.

The Full Council of the ICC will consider the appointment of Mr Najam Sethi as ICC President when it meets in Barbados at the end of June.

Cricket in the USA
Following a report on recent correspondence and discussions between the ICC and the USA Cricket Association (USACA), the ICC Board decided that it was not satisfied that USACA is compliant with all of its obligations under the ICC membership criteria and constitution.

It was decided that there was a significant amount of further work that needed to be carried out in order to complete a full and proper assessment. In support of this, a Task Force headed by the ICC Chief Executive David Richardson will travel to the USA to meet relevant stakeholders in USA cricket in order to prepare a comprehensive report for further consideration by the ICC Executive Committee and ICC Board at its next meeting.

Illegal bowling actions
Revised procedures for dealing with bowlers reported with suspected illegal bowling actions were approved, including provisions that:

shorten the turnaround time from a bowler being reported to the test results being announced (35 days reduced to 24 days); and
enable the ICC to recognise suspensions from domestic competitions, as long as the bowler has been assessed by the Member using the ICC testing protocol at an ICC-accredited testing centre.

The revised procedures will take effect immediately.

Other matters
The Board meeting commenced with Mr Srinivasan noting the immense contribution to the global game of the former Australia captain and iconic commentator Richie Benaud who passed away earlier this month.

A new rankings system has been approved for women’s cricket, incorporating results in all three formats into a single rankings system.

Nepal has been approved as host of the ICC U-19 CWC Qualifier 2015, however, this approval is conditional on the ICC being satisfied with the Cricket Association of Nepal’s (CAN) administrative capacity to deliver the event successfully.

The Board ratified the appointment of the former United Nations and International Criminal Court investigator Peter Nicholson as the new independent ICC Ethics Officer.

The Board also received reports on anti-corruption and anti-doping and approved the 2014 accounts.

Throughout the course of the week’s meetings, the various committees considered the post-2015 strategy of the ICC and provided input into a draft that will be further considered in June.

The ICC Board consists of the nominated representatives of each of the 10 Full Members plus three elected Associate Member representatives. The meeting is chaired by Mr Narayanaswami Srinivasan. Also present is the ICC Chief Executive.

ICC Chairman Narayanaswami Srinivasan
ICC Chief Executive David Richardson
Australia Wally Edwards
Bangladesh Nazmul Hassan
England Giles Clarke
India Narayanaswami Srinivasan
New Zealand Greg Barclay
Pakistan Shaharyar M. Khan
South Africa Chris Nenzani
Sri Lanka No attendee
West Indies Dave Cameron
Zimbabwe Wilson Manase
Associate Member Director (Bermuda) Neil Speight
Associate Member Director (Namibia) Francois Erasmus
Associate Member Director (Singapore) Imran Khawaja

The CEC comprises the Chief Executives of the 10 Full Members as well as three Associate Member representatives. Also present is the ICC Chief Executive who chairs the meeting, and, by invitation, the ICC Chairman, the Chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee and the Chair of the ICC Women’s Committee.

ICC Chief Executive (Chairman) David Richardson
ICC Chairman (ex Officio) Narayanaswami Srinivasan
ICC Cricket Committee Chairman (ex Officio) Anil Kumble
ICC Women’s Committee Chair (ex Officio) Clare Connor
Australia James Sutherland
Bangladesh Nizam Uddin Chowdhury
England Tom Harrison
India Anurag Thakur
New Zealand David White
Pakistan Subhan Ahmed
South Africa Haroon Lorgat
Sri Lanka Ashley de Silva
West Indies Michael Muirhead
Zimbabwe Wilfred Mukondiwa
Associate Member Representative John Cribbin
Associate Member Representative Warren Deutrom
Associate Member Representative David East.

You might also like