IWPS-Champions Of Primary School Cricket 2018

The Ivor Walters Primary School (IWPS) is the 2018 champions of Primary School Cricket on the island of Nevis.

This feat was accomplished at the grand finals versus the Elizabeth Pemberton Primary school (EPPS), held on Friday 13th July.

Kudos must be given to the coordinators of the Youth and Sports Department who organized an impressive ceremony to precede the on field play.

The two teams marched impressively from the main pavilion and were met by a team of officials, led by Hon. Eric Evelyn, Minister of Sports.

The national anthem was played and then the coin was tossed.

The EPPS team won the toss and immediately elected to send the opposition in to bat.

They had early success and the IWPS team was in obvious trouble.

It all started with a stunning catch at backward point by young Lawrence, to get rid of Lyte Browne. Add to that, a couple of needless run outs.

However, Skipper Chris Browne and Shemuel Xavier teamed up in a crucial partnership and aided by a full measure of extras, they eventually got to a competitive 77 for 9.

The EPPS team in response, never really got going and they too lost early wickets.

Sam Lal entertained briefly with two sweetly timed fours and they got back all of 21 extras, to boost their score. However, in the final analysis, It was too big an ask, on the big day and the EPPS team succumbed at 55 all out.

Summarized scores: IWPS 77 for 9 from 15 overs: Chris Browne 10; Shemuel Xavier 8

44 extras

Kian Saddler 3 for 10; Shyan Boddie 2 for 8; Romario Morgan 2 for 18

EPPS 55 all out: Sam Lal 10; Brad George and Ulano Smithen 7 each

Extras 21

Jahmal Lewis 3 for 9; Jones, Xavier and Browne 1 wicket each

IWPS won by 22 runs

You might also like