JLPS and EPPS Take Championship Honours

By: Curtis Morton

The 34th Edition of the prestigious Gulf Insurance Interprimary Schools championships, took place at the ET Willet Park on Wednesday 1st April.

As per usual, thousands of spectators took advantage of the public half holiday and crowded the park to witness their favourite school in action.

After an impressive march past by the athletes who saluted patron of the event, Mr. Kenley Maynard, along with government officials; Gulf Insurance officials and officials from the IWAF, a brief ceremony was held.

The ceremony which was chaired by Education officer, Miss Londa Browne, featured remarks by Premier Vance Amory; Hon Hazel Brandy-Williams; Gulf Insurance representatives; Lester Blackett; IWAF representative Mr. Victor Lopez and patron of the day, Mr. Kenley Maynard who duly officially opened the event.

The children then took to the track and excited the crowd in practically every single race as they all strove for excellence.

There were some close finishes and it was obvious that the spectators were truly impressed.
The athletes competed in the 400; 60; 200; 1200; 800 and 100 meters races, along with the exhilarating 4×100 and 4×400 meters races.

At the end of the day, the Jocelyn Liburd Primary school secured honours in the A division and were runaway overall champions, while the Elizabeth Pemberton Primary School secured a four-peat as B division champions and in the process even did better than A division defending champions, Charlestown Primary.

The final results were:

Jocelyn Liburd Primary School—178 points-A division and overall champions
St.Thomas’ Primary School-155 points
Ivor Walters Primary—140 points
Elizabeth Pemberton Primary—139 points-B division champions for the fourth consecutive year
Charlestown Primary—134 points
St.James Primary—50 points
Maude Crosse Preparatory—34 points
Violet OJ Nicholls Primary—34 points

You might also like