Jocelyn Liburd Primary School successfully defends championship of the annual Tourism Week Quiz

By: Gavincia Clarke

(CHARLESTOWN, NEVIS)- The Jocelyn Liburd Primary School are the defending champions of the annual Nisbet’s Plantation Beach Club sponsored Tourism Week Primary School quiz. The school was represented by students Thalia Dore and Anel Ferguson.

The competition was held at the Nevis Cultural Centre on Wednesday, February 6, 2013 and was hosted by the Nevis Island Administration’s [NIA] Ministry of Tourism. The quiz attracted participants from nine primary schools throughout the island.

The schools represented were: Belle Vue International, Charlestown Primary School, Elizabeth Pemberton Primary School, Ivor Walters, Jocelyn Liburd, Maude Crosse Preparatory School, St. James Primary, St. Thomas Primary and Violet O. Jeffers Nicholls Primary School [VOJN].

Premier of Nevis, Hon. Vance Amory commended the students from the nine Primary Schools on Nevis for their participation in the Tourism Primary School quiz. His commendation came when he made brief remarks just before the start of the contest.

Minister of Tourism, Hon. Mark Brantley also gave brief remarks. He also spoke highly of the Nisbet Plantation Beach Club which has continued to partner with Tourism to execute this event. He expressed his appreciation to the teachers who had worked tirelessly with the students in preparing this event.

At the end of the three-round competition, four schools were tied with 30 points. This warranted a tie-breaker. At the end of the tie-breaker the St. Thomas’ Primary School was knocked out early, leaving the battle between three schools. At the end of the competition which tested the students’ knowledge of Cultural Heritage, Environment Geography and Caribbean Tourism, the Joycelyn Liburd Primary School won the first place award. The Elizabeth Pemberton Primary School placing second and the St. James Primary School placing third.

Students representing the winning schools were Thalia Dore and Anel Ferguson of the Joycelyn Liburd Primary; Britney Simmonds and Zhara Jones the Elizabeth Pemberton Primary; Aliya Sampson and Zario Chumney the St. James’ Primary School.

The other schools and student participants were Akeem Walters and Adessa Farrell of the Ivor Walters Primary; Chylon Caines and Belinda Clarke of the Charlestown Primary; Kyla Seabrookes and Kelly Zheng of the Maude Crosse Preparatory; Ajuma Liburd and Sherquanya Jeffers of the Violet O., Jeffers Nicholls Primary, Adiel Chowtipersad and Shamar Guishard of the Belle Vue International Primary School and lastly Ercha Stapleton and Dahlia Slack of the St. Thomas’ Primary.

The winning schools were awarded trophies which were presented by General Manager of the Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, Mr. Andrew Hall. All participants were presented with certificates and gift packages courtesy of the Ministry of Tourism.

The opening ceremony was chaired by the Ministry of Tourism officer, Miss Vanessa Webb. The quiz announcers were Mr. Antonio Liburd, Ms. Claudia Walwyn and Mr. Eric Evelyn. The scorers were Mr. Laurence Richard, Ms. Merlyn Smith, Ms. Lydia Lawrence, Ms.Deborah Lellouch and Ms.Shinel Dore.

You might also like