Kieran Powell Included In Nevis Team

By: Curtis Morton

The Nevis Cricket Association on Wednesday released the names of the individuals included in the lineup that will represent the Nevis senior team as they start their campaign to win championship honours in the 2013 Leeward Islands Cricket championship.

A number of young players, who have come through the ranks from Primary School cricket to the present, are making their debuts for the senior team. They are the exciting wicket keeper, batsman, Dymon Paris; opening batsman Lornel Dore; Left arm leg spinner Theron Bussue who is also quite capable with the bat and a more than adequate fielder; and opening batsman Alex Williams.

Former Leeward Islands under 19 all rounder, Wasim BOOM BOOM Mintos who has done 12th man duties for the senior team on several occasions, is also in the team, alongside his more experienced team mates.
However, local cricket fans will be excited to learn that also included in the team, is Kieran Powell, the West Indies opening batsman. Earlier in the week while making a presentation at his alma mater (The Joycelyn Liburd Primary School), Powell expressed an interest in playing but pointed out that he would have to confirm with his Physio after twice fracturing a finger in recent times.

He said then: ‘If I play, I won’t be fielding too close and I sure won’t be opening the innings in this one.’

The full team which will engage arch rivals St.Kitts at the ET Willet Park from Friday 5th to Sunday 7th July reads as follows:

Tonito Willett – Capt.
Javier Liburd – Vc Capt.
Kejel Tyson
Lornel Dore
Dennayson Browne
Akito Willett
Adelvin Phillip
Justin Athanaze
Dymon Parris
Ian Byron
Nelson Boland
Jason Campbell
Wasim Mintos
Theron Bussue
Alex Williams
Kieran Powell

You might also like