Kieran Powell’s Half Century Not Enough to Secure Win for His Team

There was a sizeable crowd on hand on the evening of Sunday 18th May as the action in the Nevis Premier league (NPL) continued. There was added excitement as West Indies star player, Kieran Powell was making his first appearance in the league.

kp1Powell won the toss for his team Oualie Pelicans and elected to bat first and coped very nicely with an aggressive opening burst from former West Indies under 19 speedster, Nelson Boland and went on to execute some elegant shots on his way to a well played half century, before he was brilliantly caught.

Junie Williams played well towards the end of the innings to be not out on 24.
The Bath Hotel Blazers got off to an enterprising start with Kejel Tyson batting superbly before he was bowled when he missed an Akito Willet full toss. Then the team appeared to struggle for a while, with mystery spinner (the local Sunil Narine), Ravindra Balgobin, keeping even Tonito Willet on tight reins. Once Balgobin completed his four overs, Tonito Willet upped the tempo and suddenly they were back in the game.

It came down to 5 runs required off the last over, bowled by Junie Williams. The first ball was flashed through third man for two by Justin Athanaze and then he emphatically deposited the second delivery towards the Villa grounds and the Blazers celebrated.

Summarized scores:
Oualie Pelicans 132 for 5 from 20 overs: Kieran Powell 52; Junie Williams 24*
Theron Bussue 1 for 10; Oshane Williams 1 for 12; Tonito Willet 1 for 20 and Justin Athanaze 1 for 23
Bath Hotel Blazers: 136 for 4 in 19.2 overs: Tonito Willet 46; Kejel Tyson 34 and Andre Browne 18
Rajendra Balgobin 1 for 13 and Akito Willet 1 for 28
Bath Hotel Blazers won by 6 wickets
In other matches played over the weekend:
Summarized scores: Oualie Pelicans -69 all out in 17.4 overs: Junie Williams 35
Jason Campbell 2 for 22; Philo Wallace 1 for 7; Wasim Mintos 1 for 8; Adelvin Phillip 1 for 11; Kezron Archibald 1 for 12
Saddle Hill Rangers: 71 for 3 in 15.1 overs; Ross Powell 24*; Carlon Smithen 20
Ian Byron 2 for 18
Saddle Hill Rangers won by 7 wickets
Saddle Hill Rangers-191 for 5 in 20 overs: Xavier Cornelius 50; Adelvin Phillip 47*; Ross Powell 39; Jason Campbell 29
Big Rock 110 for 8 in 20 overs; Carlos Adolphus 17; Elroy David 14*; Laborde 13; Bernette Thompson 12
Philo Wallace 3 for 8; Wasim Mintos 2 for 11; Jevani Tyson 2 for 38; Jason Campbell 1 for 21; Kezron Archibald 1 for 30
Saddle Hill Rangers won by 81 runs

You might also like