By:Curtis Morton

The St.Kitts team is the 2016 Leeward Silands 50 overs champions.

This was made a reality after they defeated the Nevis team at home at the ET Willett Park on Saturday 30th April.

Nevis won the toss, batted first and amassed a competitive total of 239 all out in 49.3 overs. Kejel Tyson and Adelvin Phillip both made 43 runs apiece and Ross Powell scored 36.

For the St.Kitts team, Sheno Berridge got 3 for 42 and Elvin Berridge got 2 for 26, while Terrence Ward picked up 2 for 45.

St.Kitts chasing 240 for victory, got to the target for 8 wickets in 48.1 overs.

Steve Liburd top scored with 87 and Akeem Saunders got 75.

For the Nevis team, Adelvin Phillip got 2 wickets for 34 runs; Kieran Powell 2 for 37 and Justin Athanaze 2 for 44.

St.Kitts won by 2 wickets and effectively hoisted the trophy to signify their dominance of the tournament this year.

In their penultimate match, the St.Kitts players maintained their unbeaten run when they secured another victory over Anguilla.


Summarized scores: St.Kitts 250 all out in 48.1 overs:  Steve Liburd 81; Shane Jeffers 51; Tashmail Henry 34

Yannick Leonard 6 for 32

Anguilla; 236 for 8 in 50 overs:  Lyndel Richardson 52; Montcin Hodge 37; Jahmar Hamilton 35

Elsroy Powell 3 for 37

St.Kitts won by 14 runs

You might also like