NCA President Confident that Nevis will do well in 50 Overs Tournament.

President of the Nevis Cricket Association, Mr. Denrick Liburd, confidently declared on Monday 9th May, that the Nevis representative team to the upcoming Leeward Islands 50 overs Cricket tournament, will do well.

He pointed to the fact that the team comprises of a wonderful blend of youthful and more experienced players. He also believes that the fact that the more youthful players have all come through the ranks of grass roots cricket; under 13’s under 17’ and under 19’s, mean that they too have a high level of experience and are ready to step up to this higher level of competition.

He also praised the efforts of the coaches who have worked diligently with the players over the last two weeks or so. These include Coach Bernette NUTSY Thompson; Trainer Masefield Nisbett and West Indies Women’s team, Asst. Coach, Stuart Williams.

‘Ideally, I would have loved to have the team training for at least a month but be that as it may, I think that the guys are ready,’ stated Liburd.

He also elaborated on the fact that all of the matches will be played in Antigua and noted that the WICB wants matches of this caliber to be played in territories that are hosting international matches.

The ET Willet Park as a venue still needs some work in order to qualify to host regional matches but Liburd stated that they are about 85% there and is optimistic that the remaining requirements will be met shortly.

He also noted that the WICB regional under 19 tournament will be held in St.Kitts in July of this year and he is seeking to make arrangements to get one or two matches played in Nevis.

The Leeward Islands men’s 50 overs tournament will be held in Antigua from the 11th to the 20th May.

The participating teams are: Anguilla; Antigua& Barbuda; Montserrat; Nevis; St.Maarten; St.Kitts and Combined Islands.

Liburd named the Nevis team that will participate in the tournament as follows:

Adelvin Phillip-capt; Jason Campbell v.capt; Tonito Willet; Jamie Cornelius; Saeed Williams; Ross Powell; K’jel Tyson; Nelson Bolan; Theron Bussue; Akito Willet; Keon Pemberton; Wasim Mintos; Justin Athanaze and Duan Webbe.

Team Manager-Errol Somersall

Coach-Bernette NUTSY Thompson

Liburd revealed that Shelton Forbes who has been named in the reserves, is ‘unlucky’ to have not been included in the main squad. He thinks that he is a fantastic player and opines that his opportunity is not far off.


You might also like