Netball : ECCB Press Release

The Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) International Netball Series is scheduled to be held in St. John’s, Antigua during the period September 29 — October 8, 2023 (travel dates included).

Seven OECS countries namely: the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and the host country— Antigua and Barbuda shall compete for the “Gloria Ballantyne Trophy”. Caribbean counterparts Barbados and Cayman Islands – will benefit from the opportunity to engage in World Netball (WN) Approved international matches. Regrettably, Anguilla will not be participating.

The participation by nine countries is indeed a fitting tribute to the ECCB @ 40. On January 19, 2023, the ECCB launched its 40th anniversary year of celebration and implementation and the Caribbean Netball Association (CNA) is indeed delighted at the best-ever participation by countries coinciding with “ECCB@40 — A Year of Celebration and Implementation”.

This year the ECCB took into consideration the high cost of air travel within the region and all OECS member countries were generously supported in covering the cost of travel to Antigua.

The level of funding being provided by the ECCB to facilitate the participation of OECS countries in the ECCB International Netball Series is testimony to the ECCB’s unwavering commitment to the growth and development of netball in the region.

Since 1991, the ECCB has been supporting Netball in the OECS. In appreciation of more than three decades of netball financing, the ECCB will be highly featured throughout the series.

The Opening Ceremony will begin with the Parade of the participating country teams from the ECCB Office (in St. John’s, Antigua) to the tournament venue — the YMCA Sports Complex in St. John’s, Antigua. The ECCB will deliver the keynote address at the Opening Ceremony – which is carded for Saturday, September 30, 2023, at the YMCA Sports Complex.

On Wednesday, October 4, 2023, the customary ECCB Personal Development Session will engage participating players and officials at the Jolly Beach Resort; as well as the virtual audience via live streaming.

The Welcome Reception and Candle Lighting Ceremony, under the auspices of the Governor General of Antigua and Barbuda, is scheduled for Friday, September 29, 2023.

The tournament is a round-robin format and the 36 fixtured matches shall be officiated by 4 UAPs and 10 umpires appointed by World Netball. Their names and their country of origin are as follows:

Umpires Appointment Panel UAPs): Deborah Lynch of Barbados, Sylvester Chris Campbell of Jamaica, Anne Marie Dickson-Lewis and Joel Young-Strong of Trinidad and Tobago.

Umpires- Wayne Benti of St. Lucia, Tracy-Ann Griffiths and Terrence Peart of Jamaica, Kanika Paul-Payne and Joel Brown of Trinidad and Tobago, Louise Cole and James Thomas of the United Kingdom, Michelle Maynard and Makeba Clarke of Barbados and Moeth Gaynies of St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

The first match of the tournament will feature the defending champions – St., Vincent and the Grenadines playing against the Cayman Islands on Court 1 and on Court 2, St. Lucia will challenge Montserrat. The host country team is scheduled to play the last scheduled match on the opening day against Dominica; while Grenada will come up against St. Kitts and Nevis, in the second set of simultaneous matches. The first match for Barbados is scheduled for Day 2 of play.

CNA, in collaboration with the ECCB and the host country, is working assiduously to guarantee the live streaming of events and matches as per the attached schedule. Importantly, we all look forward to an enriching and competitive international netball experience for all the netballers.

You might also like