Nevis Masters Off To St. Maarten

By: Curtis Morton

The Leeward Islands Masters Cricket champions, Nevis, is set to leave the Charlestown pier at 2:00 p.m. today Thursday, May 21, 2015  to head to St.Maarten for a cricket tournament.

The team is preparing to defend its championship trophy in the Leeward Islands Masters’ Tournament, which is set to start this weekend.

Chief organizer of the trip, Franklyn ‘Kut’ Daniel revealed this week that all of the necessary arrangements for the trip have already been made. This includes transportation via the M.V Mark Twain and accommodation in St. Maarten.

Earlier this week  Carl Tuckett was named as captain while Wendell ‘Micey’ Wallace as deputy.

The manager is Oscar ‘Astro’ Browne and the coach is Joel Simmonds.

The full squad reads:
Frank Monzac, Alexis ‘Fox’ Tyson, Oneil Walters, Ellison Smithen, Carl Tuckett, Eustace Johnson, Colin Archibald, Merlin Liburd, Ardie Liburd, Curtis Morton, Patrick Newton,  Charles ‘Yellow’ Hendrickson, Sterling Marshall, Derrick Parry, Vellie Maynard, Junior ‘Duncan’ Mills, Eustace Johnson,  Teddy ‘Blackman’ Liburd and Wendell ‘Micey’ Wallace.

The team is set to arrive in St. Maarten at about 5:00 p.m. along with the St.Kitts team members who will also journey on the same boat.

There will be an opening ceremony that same evening at 8:00 p.m. after which both teams will prepare to face off in the first match of the tournament which will be played at the Caribe Lumber ball Park.

That match is scheduled for Friday, May 22 at 10:00 a.m. Nevis will then face St. Thomas on Saturday May 23rd and will be hoping to move into the semi finals and finals slated for Sunday, May 24.

The teams are zoned as follows:

Zone one: Nevis, St.Thomas, St.Kitts and St.Maarten

Zone two: Antigua, Anguilla and St.Croix.

You might also like