Nevis Masters to Play Under 17’s in Practice Match.

As the Nevis Masters’ Cricket team, prepares for the 2017 edition of the Leeward Islands masters Cricket tournament, President of the local Masters Cricket Association, Franklyn KUT Daniel, revealed on Wednesday that preparations are going well for his team so far.

He indicated that the guys are showing up for the practice sessions and is confident that this time around, his team will bring back the coveted winner’s trophy back to Nevis.

He was quick to point out that the team is even stronger than the one which lost in the finals to St. Croix last year.

Tony Grant, who originally played for the Nevis team but decided to represent St.Kitts in the last two years, is back at the top of the order; Cordell Walters and Charles YELLOWMAN Hendrickson who were absent last year, will also join the team in St. Thomas and speedster Phil SINGERMAN Hobson, who was absent for the last few years, is also back in the lineup.

As part of the preparations for the tournament, the Masters will engage the Nevis under 17 team in a match, later today-Thursday 18th May.

The match which is set to commence at 5 pm, will be played at the ET Willet Park.

The full team reads:

Carl Tuckett; Frank Monzac; Derrick Parry; Wendell Wallace; Elroy David; Eustace Johnson; Alexis Tyson; Oneil Walters; Junior Mills; Tony Grant; Charles Hendrickson; Cordell Walters; Phil Hobson and Ardie Liburd

The Leeward Islands Masters tournament is set for St. Thomas this year and will be played during the period Friday 26th to Sunday 28th May.

It is expected to be a very intense tournament with some eight teams participating, which could well mean that teams may play two matches on the same day, in some instances.

The eight participating teams are: Antigua and Barbuda; St. Kitts; Nevis; St. Maarten; Tortola; St. Thomas; St. Croix and Anguilla.

You might also like