Nevis Postal Service Ceremony

(CHARLESTOWN NEVIS) –The Nevis Postal Service held a ceremony at the office’s headquarters on Main Street Charlestown, on October 30, 2013.

The event was held to unveil photos of past and present Deputy Postmasters Generals, Heads of Branches and to recognize certain current officers.

Postman Mr. Addison Jeffers invoked God’s presence with a word of prayer. This was followed by the National Anthem.

Chairperson of the ceremony Mrs. Rhonda Williams, who is currently serving as Deputy Postmaster General gave the opening remarks. She told those in attendance she was very delighted to see all those in attendance. She said the occasion was a significant one since it highlighted the importance of Postal services and Officers in Nevis.

Hon. Troy Liburd, Jr. Minister responsible for Post gave some brief remarks. Mr. Liburd told the gathering that the Postal Service has been an integral part of our society over the years. Liburd continued, “I want to join with the Postal Service today to recognize those persons who have served with distinction over the years”.  He noted that before things such as Twitter came into being the Postal Service was the main source of communicating with others across the globe. The Junior Minister humorously said that bills are the only thing that he collects from the Post Office in this new age.

Former Postmaster General, Mrs. Evelyn Henville gave some remarks on behalf of all her past and present colleagues. She said she was gratified to be afforded the opportunity to speak on behalf of her retired colleagues. She said there are countless memories that she still carries with her from her days at the Post Office. Mrs. Henville claimed that she developed some special relationships with not only her staff but also with customers.  In conclusion the Mrs. Henville thanked the Postal Service for thinking of them and for placing them on such a high pedestal.

The unveiling of the photos was done by Mr. Ernie Stapleton, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Communications. Mrs. Carol Jeffers gave the vote of thanks.





You might also like