Commonwealth Day observed with sitting of the Nevis Youth Parliament

NevisPages, Charlestown, Nevis, March 12, 2018 – Today, Monday, March 12, 2018 the fifty three (53) countries making up the Commonwealth observed Commonwealth Day.

The annual celebration is observed every year across the world on the second Monday of March. Faith and civic gatherings, debates, school assemblies, flag raising ceremonies, are some of the events that are usually used to celebrate the vast diversity and unique culture of the Commonwealth.

In Nevis, Commonwealth Day was observed with the staging of a session of the Youth Parliament.

The theme for the Youth Parliament was, “Working Towards a Common Future”. The session focused on youth, sports, volunteerism, education, scholarships, globalization, businesses, and youth development.

Mr Rol-J Williams gave the throne speech and addressed the topics outlined above.

Both of the government secondary schools here on Nevis were represented. The youth parliamentarians from Charlestown Secondary School in attendance were: Tiquana Liburd, Donella Thompson, Celestial Hanley, Beyonce Pemberton, Britney Wilkin, Chaliyah Morton, Hadaseah Ross, Tevaria Richards, Recardoe Rodriquez, Ariel Wilkin, Patrice Nisbett, Alyssa Daniel, Renee Davis, Tameshwar Rajkumar, Smauel, Ortiz, Shahid Bertie, Domal Spellen, Vishwanauth, Singh, Tyrique, Smith, Yuniqua Thompson, and Lauren Lawrence.

The youth parliamentarians from Gingerland Secondary School in attendance were: Shadimon Pemberton, Ajuma Liburd, Apryll Tyson, Najahde Liburd, Shadequa Stapleton, Shai- Anne Tyson, Nijaunte David, Shoba Subramani, Charlyn Myers, Vanessa Simon, Natrisia Smith, Sharinque Reid, Kalianne Smith, Mia Alexander, Kaseya Manners, Brianna Browne, Destiny Lowe, Steve Walters, Kitara Huggins, and Raedicia Chapman.

The session was witnessed by the Premier of Nevis, Hon. Mark Brantley, Hon. Eric Evelyn, Hon. Hazel Brandy-Williams, Hon. Troy Liburd and the President of the Assembly the Hon. Farrell Smithen.

Premier of Nevis, Hon. Mark Brantley presented all of the youth parliamentarians with certificates of participation; while the Assembly President, Mr. Farrell Smithen gave brief remarks and thanked everyone for their attendance.


You might also like