New NIA Cabinet meets for first time; Premier Brantley reiterates commitment to do right by the people of Nevis

NIA CHARLESTOWN NEVIS (December 28, 2017) — The Cabinet of the Nevis Island Administration (NIA) met for the first time on December 28, 2017, at the Cabinet Room at Pinney’s Estate, four days after they were sworn into office at an inauguration ceremony at the Elquemedo T. Willett Park on December 24, 2017.

In brief remarks, Premier of Nevis Hon. Mark Brantley reiterated the new administration’s pledge to remain committed to the interest of the people of Nevis.

“I want to continue our pledge to the people of Nevis, that we will do right by them and we will ensure that our decisions are just and we take into account their interest and the needs of all the people of Nevis.

“That is our pledge as a new government and I believe that our people will hold us accountable in terms of our delivery on that pledge,” he said.

Premier Brantley noted that the Cabinet is cognisant of the volume of work to be done and convened the first meeting although it is the midst of the festive season.

He used the opportunity to formally welcome the two new ministers in Hon. Eric Evelyn and Hon. Spencer Brand who he said would add some “vim, vigour, vitality” to the work of the Cabinet.

Mr. Brantley also spoke to the other members of the Cabinet—four elected members including himself and Deputy Premier Hon. Alexis Jeffers, two nominated members Hon. Hazel Brandy-Williams and Hon. Troy Liburd, Cabinet Secretary Mr. Stedmond Tross and Legal Advisor Mr. Colin Tyrell – who are charged with making decisions for the people of Nevis.

“Eight people out of a population of over 13,000, we really are the ones charged with making decisions for the rest and I think that ought to put it in perspective, in terms of the awesome responsibility that we have, and our need at all times, to ensure that the interest of our people are put first,” he said.

In the new Cabinet, Hon. Mark Brantley also holds the portfolio of Minister of Finance, Statistics, Economic Planning, Education, Library Services, Human Resources, Industry, Trade and Consumer Affairs, Health, Tourism and Information Technology, Public Utilities and Energy and Foreign Investments.

Hon. Alexis Jeffers is also the Minister of Agriculture, Lands, Housing, Cooperatives and Fisheries, Natural Resources and Disaster Management.

Hon. Eric Evelyn is the Minister of Culture, Youth, Sports, Community Development and Telecommunications and Information.

Hon. Spencer Brand is the Minister of Labour, Public Works, Physical Planning, Posts and the Environment.

Junior Minister Mrs. Brandy-Williams, will serve in the Premier’s Ministry with responsibility for Health and Gender Affairs. Junior Minister Mr. Liburd will serve in the same ministry with responsibility for Education, Library Services and Information Technology.

The meeting  was the first of its kind in which the Hon. Vance Amory, who had led the Concern Citizens Movement Party for 30 years was not a part of. He handed the leadership to Mr. Brantley some months prior to the Nevis Island Assembly elections which was held on December 18, 2017.

You might also like