Opposition wins Grenada election

ST GEORGE’S, Grenada (CMC) — The main Opposition New National Party (NNP) won yesterday’s general election.

Preliminary results, at press time last night, show that the NNP, headed by former Prime Minister Dr Keith Mitchell, has won 12 seats of the 15 seats, including that of several government ministers such as Finance Minister Nazim Burke, Social Development Minster Sylvester Quarless and Works Minister Arlene Walker.

Burke was defeated in the St George’s North East constituency by the relatively unknown candidate, Tobia Clement, a lecturer at the St George’s University here, who later told reporters that “I say to God be the glory. I always put my trust in the Lord, and tonight he has moved in a big way,” he added.

Prime Minister Tillman Thomas, who was leading the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC), was facing an uphill struggle to win his St Patrick East seat against relative newcomer Clifton Paul of the NNP.

Earlier, Mitchell told the Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC) that figures indicated that his party, which was trounced 11-4 in the 2008 general election, would most likely win all seats, repeating a feat it achieved in 1999.

“It is clear that we have won the election, it is very likely we will win all the seats,” he told CMC.
Political scientist and pollster Peter Wickham, appearing on television here analysing the elections, said that it would be “phenomenal achievement” if the NDC would be able to retain the Government.

You might also like