Pennyless All Stars –T-20 champs for Second consecutive year

By:Curtis Morton

The Pennyless All-stars team of Nevis, established themselves as the real club champions of cricket in the federation of St. Kitts and Nevis, on Sunday 17th December.

This feat was accomplished as they soundly whipped the Newtown team, in the grand finals of the Keith Arthurton T-20 tournament, at the Conaree grounds.

The Newtown team batted first and scored a competitive 153 in their allotted 20 overs.

However, the Pennyless All-stars team, made light work of the target, by overhauling the total, without the loss of a single wicket.

Two of Nevis’ finest youth cricketers, in Ross Powell and Jamie Cornelius, literally took the bowling by the ‘scruff of its neck.’

The former was 74 not out and the latter, 73 not out, at the end.

It means therefore, that the Pennyless All-stars team, are the winners of the prestigious tournament, for the second consecutive year.

A proud Stuart Williams was quick to point out that the feat was accomplished without the involvement of star paceman, Kian Pemberton, who actually took a five-fer, in last year’s finals, to lead his team to victory.

You might also like