PLP’s National Convention 2018: Dr Harris re-elected National Political Leader

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, March 25, 2018 (PLP PR Media Inc.) — National Political Leader of the Peoples Labour Party (PLP), Prime Minister Dr the Hon Timothy Sylvester Harris, and the entire PLP National Executive were on Saturday March 24 re-elected unopposed at the party’s National Convention held at the Patsy Allers Playing Field in West Basseterre.

After a robust and historic public session which was attended by hundreds of persons including Political Leader of the People’s Action Movement (PAM) and Deputy Prime Minister, the Hon Shawn Richards, Nevis’s Deputy Premier the Hon Alexis Jeffers who stood in for the Hon Mark Brantley, Premier of Nevis and Political Leader of the Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM), and Senior Minister and former Political Leader of the CCM the Hon Vance Amory, the convention went into private session where the elections were held.

The Peoples Labour Party, the People’s Action Movement, and the Nevis-based Concerned Citizens Movement are constituent parties that form the Team Unity Government.  

Conducting the elections was Auditor Mr Franklyn Maitland of Maitland, Maitland and Associates who announced that before him was a list of persons contesting positions on the Peoples Labour Party National Executive. He however noted that he had only one name for each of the positions meaning that they were being re-elected unopposed.

Returned to the PLP National Executive, following their re-elections and elections at last year’s party National Convention that was held at the Tabernacle’s Recreation Grounds, were National Political Leader Dr the Hon Timothy Harris, and Deputy National Political Leader Senator the Hon Akilah Byron-Nisbett.

 Mr Warren Thompson was returned as the National Chairman, with Mr Craig Tuckett as the Deputy National Chairman; Ms Myrtilla Williams as the National Secretary, and Mr Christophe Greaux as the Deputy National Secretary.

 Others were: Mr Victor Earle, National Treasurer; Ms Claudette Thompson, Deputy National Treasurer; Mrs Sonia Henry and Ms Tishanna Norford as Women’s Arm Representatives; Mr Manasses Huggins and Mr Damian Weekes as Youth Arm Representatives; and Mr Alexis Nisbett as the National Party Organiser.

 The 2018 National Convention’s Private Session, which was chaired by Mr Warren Thompson, opened with the presentation of the party’s progressive and all-inclusive national activities that would have taken place during the year 2017/18, by National Secretary Ms Myrtilla Williams.

 Party’s National Organiser Mr Alexis Nisbett read resolutions that would have been prepared by the various Constituency Branches and which were unanimously moved, before Auditor Franklyn Maitland conducted elections of the party’s National Executive.

 National Political Leader, Dr the Hon Timothy Harris, while introducing the re-elected members of the National Executive, thanked the eight Constituency Branches whose delegates were present for popularising the Peoples Labour Party among ordinary members of their respective communities.


 Pix captions:

1: National Political Leader, Dr the Hon Timothy Harris (seated second right), with the re-elected Peoples Labour Party National Executive.

2: Auditor Mr Franklyn Maitland.

3: Deputy National Political Leader, Senator the Hon Akilah Byron-Nisbett, speaking after the re-election of party officials.


You might also like