PM Douglas to hand over Monetary Council chairmanship

BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS, SEPTEMBER 3RD 2013 (CUOPM) – St. Kitts and Nevis’ Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, the Right Hon. Dr. Denzil L. Douglas hands over the chairmanship of the Monetary Council of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) on Wednesday.

Dr. Douglas, who is accompanied by Acting Financial Mrs. Hilary Hazel, hands over the chairmanship to his St. Lucia counterpart, the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance of St. Lucia, the Hon. Dr. Kenny D. Anthony during a ceremony at the
Sandals Grande St Lucian Resort in St. Lucia.

The Council is the highest decision making authority of the ECCB which comprises the eight Ministers for Finance of the ECCB member governments of Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

According to the ECCB, following the meeting, the newly appointed Chairman, Prime Minister Anthony, will present the communiqué and along with the other Members of the Council, field questions from media representatives in St. Lucia.

You might also like