Police Hold Second Long Service and Good Conduct Award Ceremony

Basseterre, St. Kitts, November 03, 2016, 2015 (RSCNPF): Thirty two (32) active and former officers of the Royal St. Christopher and Nevis Police Force were recognized in an awards ceremony on Thursday (November 03) for “Long Service and Good Conduct.”

The ceremony held at the Ocean Terrace Inn under the patronage of the Governor General, His Excellency Sir S. W. Tapley Seaton was attended by the Honourable Ian Liburd in capacity as the acting Minister National Security, the Honourable Vincent Byron- Attorney General, members of the Judiciary, Government Officials, members of the Diplomatic Corps, family members, Gazetted and other Officers of the Police Service.

Commissioner of Police, Mr. Ian Queeley told the gathered officers and guest that, “recognition and awards are critical to the morale of an organization,” and said, “this ceremony for me is timely and is special because it falls within our celebration of “Police Week”. He added, “Police week has been absent for a number of years and as we move forward, “Police Week” will continue and ceremonies like this today will be common place and timely.” and noted that, “this is our second award ceremony this year to recognize our officers for their many years, eighteen (18) and more of Long Service and Good Conduct while serving in the Police Service, the first ceremony was in May, and I’m delighted that we have been able to do another in such short order.”

Commissioner Queeley then expressed, “these officers are being recognized for eighteen years of long service and good conduct. They will come forward and have pinned on their chest, a medal “The Police Long Service and Good Conduct Medal.”

“Long service, each of these officers would have served a minimum of eighteen years in our police service. Eighteen years of giving to our nation. Eighteen years of answering a nation’s call of maintaining security and citizen safety. Eighteen years of being steadfast in their commitment, loyal and being good followers and leaders. Eighteen years of making a difference each and every day, so our citizens could enjoy a safe federation. Eighteen years of missing family events because of duty. Eighteen years of leaving the comfort of home to serve and protect while others sleep,” said Commissioner Queeley as he described the significance of the award.

Commissioner Queeley then added, “this medal also exemplifies that these are men of honour, for doing the right thing, for not turning away from their duty because no one was there to see. Each of these officers have records that are of the highest standards. Their records are testament to their courage of doing the right thing…doing the right thing, everyday… in and out of uniform. Their records clearly shows that without compromise or prejudice they have served with honour. They have demonstrated good conduct.”

The Commissioner ended his remarks by also reminding the audience that the medal was also about sacrifice. “Sacrifice of years given to a nation”.

Gazzeted Officers receiving the award were Inspectors Conrad Bertie, James Sutton, Carla Wallace, Lanston Jeffers and Everette Mitchum. Police Sergeant Joel Caines, Corporal Stuart Henry and Police Constables Valentine Kelly, Lestin Wiltshire, Marva Huggins, Lewis Richardson, Esther Norford, Kevin Douglas, Ivas Hodge, Owen Browne, McKella Browne, Wayne Cranstoun, Leroy Fahie,, Avril Wilkin, Kervin Hutchinson, Cohan Liburd, Fitzroy Payne, and Constable Kervin Powell. Awards were also presented to Special Constables Charles Cornelius, Yasmine Belle and Sylvester Hutton. Retired Officers, Constable Ingle Liburd, Leslie Williams (Deceased), Elson Michael and Glenroy Stanley were also presented with their medals.

You might also like