It’s a closely guarded secret for the time being but Cricket Coordinator in the Ministry of Sports, Carl Tuckett, stopped short of revealing the name at Tuesday’s launch of the 2016 edition of the Primary school’s cricket league, on Nevis.

The launch and official draw for the placement of teams, took place at the conference room of the Ministry of Finance in the presence of coaches from the representative schools, participating in the league.

The brief ceremony was chaired by Carl Tuckett and the invocation was delivered by Mrs. Govanie Hendrickson.

Carl Tuckett then revealed that as has been the case for the last several years, the league will be sponsored by faithful sponsor, TDC.

However, the league will receive a new name on Friday 17th June, when a separate ceremony will be held at the same venue, during which Hon Hazel Brandy Williams will make the revelation of the name.

He also revealed that the league will bowl off on Monday 20th June at the Villa grounds, with two matches, commencing at 10 am.

Proposed grounds for the league this year will be The Villa grounds (CSS); the Cotton Ground playing field; the VOJN grounds and the newly renovated field at Zion village.

The coaches then had an opportunity to say a few words and those who spoke appeared confident that the trophy will this year, be going to their respective schools.

The coaches then assisted with the official draw, which effectively placed the teams in two zones as follows:

Zone A: Charlestown Primary; VOJN; Jocelyn Liburd Primary and St.Thomas’ Primary.

Zone B: Elizabeth Pemberton Primary; Maude Cross Preparatory; Ivor Walters Primary and St.James’ primary.

The defending champion is the Charlestown Primary school.

You might also like