Primary Schools’ Football Tournament For 2023 Kicks Off

It is obvious that the zeal and enthusiasm from last year’s tournament, has spilled over into 2023.

A sizeable crowd was on hand, as the 2023 edition of the tournament, got underway at the ET Willet Park, on Wednesday 18th October.

The opening ceremony was ably chaired by Mr. Brian Dowe, Deputy Director of Sports and featured the following:

Invocation by Leandre Dyer; National anthem by Miss Zenobia Johnson of IWPS and welcome remarks by Mr. Dowe himself.

Second Vice President of the St. Kitts and Nevis Football Association (SKNFA), Mr. Cuthbert Caines, also pledged his Association’s support to the tournament and the young footballers and urged them to showcase their skills, so that one day they could emulate the current two Nevisians in the national team: Jalden Myers and Zaykeese Smith.

Minister of Sports, Hon. Troy Liburd, urged the children to play fair and hard and to produce a tournament of the standard of last year, or even better.

He also hinted to the SOL representative present, that the tournament is still without a title sponsor.

The players’ oath was presented by Jayden Christopher of the IWPS and national player, Jalden Myers, presented the officials’ oath.

A profile of the patron for the tournament, Andre Liburd, also known as Leon REDOUT Powell, was read and then the officials went onto the field of play, where Powell fired off the first kick to start the tournament, leaving Permanent Secretary, Kevin Barrett, stranded in goal.

You might also like