Smashers And Super Sixers In T-20 Finals

By Curtis Morton

It’s official.

The two top teams in the 2018 edition of the Paradise Beach T-20 Cricket tournament are SMASHERS and SUPER SIXERS.

The grand finals is now set for Saturday 14th April at the ET Willet Park, starting at 4 pm.

The final preliminary match was played on Wednesday 11th April at the ETW when Super Sixers sealed the deal versus the Big Rock team.

The Big Rock team batted first and scored what looked like a competitive 138 for 6 in their allotted 20 overs on the back of an attractive half century from Bhim.

However, when the Super Sixers batted Jamie Cornelius started like a man possessed and he brought up his half century-58 to be exact, in just 25 balls hitting 7 fours and 3 maximums.

Ross Powell also slammed 5 fours in 28 and Trishawn Francis and Skipper Jason Campbell carried the momentum right through to the end. They only needed 11. 4 overs to overtake the target!

Summarized scores: Big Rock-138 for 6 from 20 overs: A. Bhim 56; J. Amurdan 38

Jamie Cornelius 3 for 29; Jason Campbell 2 for 4; Nelson Boland 1 for 21

Super Sixers: 139 for 4 in 11.4 overs: Jamie Cornelius 58; Ross Powell 28; Trishawn Francis 24*; Jason Campbell 14*

  1. Amory 2 for 38; A. Bhim 2 for 31

Super Sixers won by 6 wickets

As per usual, there is a lot of pre match chatter surrounding the finals. Wasim Mintos of the Smashers indicated quite clearly: ‘We going wash dem in!’

Jamie Cornelius of the Super Sixers when asked if they would take this one, replied with a grin: ‘Easily!’

Saturday night will tell it all.

You might also like