St Kitts and Nevis goes to polls today

(BASSETERRE, ST. KITTS)- The people of St. Kitts and Nevis are going to the polls today Monday, February 16, 2015 in what has become one of the most keenly contested election in the region.

As Nomination Day closed on Friday, February, 2015 twenty-two (22) candidates have been nominated to contest the 2015 general election.

The ruling St. Kitts and Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP) fielded eight (8) candidates, the People’s Action Movement’s (PAM) six(6); and the People’s Labour Party (PLP) nominated two (2). On the island of Nevis, the Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM) and the Nevis Reformation Party (NRP) each put three (3) candidates forward.

Polling stations opened at 7 a.m. and remain open until 6 p.m. local time.

Prime Minister, Denzil Douglas, 62, is currently serving his fourth term as Prime Minister of the twin island federation.

Persons are reminded to follow the voting regulations including the ban of cell phones in the polling room, no fingernail polish or acrylic on the right index finger (voting finger) and valid picture identification.

The full list of candidates is presented below:

CONSTITUENCY                SKNLP + NRP                                   TEAM UNITY
St. Christopher #1          Earl Asim MARTIN (SKNLP)                Ian LIBURD (PAM)
St. Christopher #2          Marcella LIBURD (SKNLP)                   Jonel POWELL (PAM)
St. Christopher #3           Konris MAYNARD (SKNLP)                 Sam CONDOR* (PLP)
St. Christopher #4           Glen Fitzroy PHILLIP (SKNLP)           Lindsay GRANT (PAM)
St. Christopher #5            Norgen WILSON (SKNLP)                   Shawn RICHARDS* (PAM)
St. Christopher #6            Denzil Llewellyn DOUGLAS (SKNLP) Vernon A. CONNOR
St. Christopher #7             Vance GILBERT (SKNLP)                    Timothy HARRIS** (PLP)
St. Christopher #8             Terrance DREW (SKNLP)                     Eugene HAMILTON* (PAM)
Nevis #9                               E. Robelto HECTOR (NRP)                  Mark BRANTLEY* (CCM)
Nevis #10                             Cory Makani TYSON (NRP)                 Vance AMORY* (CCM)
Nevis #11                              Patrice NISBETT*(NRP)                       Alexis JEFFERS (CCM

You might also like