St.Kitts wins Stuart Williams T-20 Series

By:Curtis Morton

The St.Kitts senior Cricket team, edged out Nevis in a thriller on Sunday 15th May at the ET Willett Park to be named champions of the Stuart Williams organized T-20 series.

The first match was played at the Molineux grounds in St.Kitts, on Saturday 14th May and was unfortunately rained out.

When the rains came the St.Kitts team was comfortably placed on 82 for 2, chasing a target of 139 made by Nevis.

In Sunday’s match, played at the ET Willett Park, the St.Kitts team batted first and were off to a shaky start losing two wickets cheaply. However, their most experienced duo, in Steve Liburd (39) and Shane Jeffers (58), teamed up in an enterprising and exciting partnership to lead St.Kitts to a formidable 135 when the 20 overs were completed.

Nevis started aggressively led by Kejel Tyson who played a few scintillating shots and Kieran Powell who also played a couple of lovely shots, but when both departed, wickets fell steadily.

It took a near herculean effort by Justin Athanaze in the lower order, smashing a few maximums towards the Villa ground, to give the Nevis team the ghost of a chance to achieve the total.

It came down to 14 required from the final over, bowled by an accurate Sheno Berridge and then a hopeless 8 from the final ball.

The St.Kitts team celebrated in style.

You might also like