St.Thomas’ Primary Dominates at Inter Primary 2016

Curtis Morton

It always promised to be a ding-dong battle for first place honours and so it was little surprise that the lead changed hands at varying intervals during the prestigious event.
The action was at the ET Willet Park on Wednesday 30th March, as several thousand spectators showed up to witness the 34th edition of the much anticipated Gulf Insurance Interprimary athletic meet, also known as Nevis’ MINI OLYMPICS.
An impressive march past moved off at about 11.40 a.m. as the athletes marched smartly to the strains of the Gingerland Methodist Church’s drum corp.

Premier and Patron
Premier and Patron

The salute was taken by the patron of the day, Miss Ranielle Arthurton, along with Premier Vance Amory and Gulf Insurance and Education officials.
They later inspected and met personally with the impressively attired athletes.
A brief ceremony was then held, which was ably chaired by Miss Ercia Blake and featured an address by Premier Vance Amory who spoke to the athletes about the pride and joy of winning, but not an attitude of ‘win at all cost.’
Other speakers included, the Gulf Insurance representative out of Trinidad and Tobago and Miss Cherry-Anne Walwyn, who read a profile on the Patron  Miss Ranielle Arturton.
There were also the athletes’ and officials’ oaths; a prayer by Pastor Ron Daniel and a wonderful rendition of the national anthem, on pan, by Carlon Tuckett.
Patron Ranielle Arthurton then expressed her delight at being chosen as the patron and then officially declared the meet open.
The athletes then competed fiercely in the 400; 800; 1200; 100; 4x 100 and 4X 400 meters events and thrilled the huge crowd in every single one of the races, with various schools getting gold medals along the way, hence the resulting closeness of the scores throughout.
At the end of the meet, the following results were announced:
Division A

St. Thomas: 182 Champions

Ivor Walters: 159

Charlestown: 153

Joycelyn Liburd: 117

Division B

EPPS: 152-Champions

Maude Crosse: 51

St. James: 32

VOJN: 18
1ST- St. Thomas’-182
2nd Ivor Walters-159
3rd Charlestown Primary-153
4th EPPS-152
5th JLPS -117
6th Maude Cross-51
7th St.James’-32
8th VOJN-18
The two most outstanding athletes of the day were also presented with trophies: Queleel Robert of the Elizabeth Pemberton Primary and Tiana Liburd of the St.James’ Primary School



EPPS -B Zone champs
EPPS -B Zone champs
Tiana Liburd -left and Queleel Robert -right--Jamir Claxton-center
Tiana Liburd -left and Queleel Robert -right–Jamir Claxton-center

You might also like