Sunil Narine added to Windies Test squad for NZ

St John’s, Antigua – The West Indies Cricket Board today announced that off-spinner Sunil Narine has been added to the West Indies squad for the three Tests against New Zealand to be played next month.

Narine has played five Tests, including two against the New Zealanders.

Meanwhile Shane Shillingford and Marlon Samuels are headed to Perth, Australia with West Indies Head Coach Ottis Gibson for independent testing after both players were reported for suspected illegal bowling actions during the second Test against India earlier this month.

Concerns were raised by match officials about Samuels’ faster ball and Shillingford’s doosra.

Both are eligible to play in the first Test, starting in Dunedin on Tuesday, as they are cleared to play until the independent testing results have been submitted to the sport’s world governing body, the ICC.

Samuels, Shillingford and Gibson are expected to rejoin the squad at the weekend.

Kraigg Brathwaite, who was named in the Windies Test squad as replacement for the injured Chris Gayle is awaiting the processing of a New Zealand visa and an Australian transit visa before departing the Caribbean.

Darren Sammy (Captain)
Denesh Ramdin (Vice Captain)
Tino Best
Kraigg Brathwaite
Darren Bravo
Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Sheldon Cottrell
Narsingh Deonarine
Kirk Edwards
Shannon Gabriel
Sunil Narine
Veerasammy Permaul
Kieron Powell
Marlon Samuels
Shane Shillingford
Chadwick Walton

Team Management Unit
Ottis Gibson (Head Coach)
Richie Richardson (Team Operations Manager)
Andre Coley (Assistant Coach)
Stuart Williams (Assistant Coach)
C.J. Clark (Physiotherapist)
Hector Martinez Charles (Strength & Conditioning Coordinator)
Richard Berridge (Video & Statistical Analyst)
Virgil Browne (Massage Therapist)
Adriel “Woody” Richard (Media Relations Manager)

Schedule of matches
(All times are local; East Caribbean minus 17 hours, Jamaica minus 18 hours)

Tue 3 to Sat 7 1st Test – University Oval, Dunedin (10:30 a.m. daily)
Wed 11 to Sun 15 2nd Test – Basin Reserve, Wellington (10:30 a.m. daily)
Thu 19 to Mon 23 3rd Test – Seddon Park, Hamilton (10:30 a.m. daily)
Thu 26 1st One-day International – Eden Park, Auckland (2 p.m.)
Sun 29 2nd One-day International – McLean Park, Napier (2 p.m.)

Wed 1 3rd One-day International – Queenstown Events Centre (11 a.m.)
Sat 4 4th One-day International – Saxton Oval, Nelson (11 a.m.)
Wed 8 5th One-day International – Seddon Park (2 p.m.)
Sat 11 1st Twenty20 International – Eden Park (7 p.m.)
Wed 15 2nd Twenty20 International – Westpac Stadium, Wellington (7 p.m.)

You might also like