Teams And Zones Confirmed For Masters’ Tournament

Curtis Morton

President of the Nevis Masters’ Cricket Association, Franklyn KUT Daniel, has revealed that the Leeward Islands Masters Cricket Association (LIMCA), has confirmed the teams and zones, for this year’s Leeward Islands Masters Cricket tournament.

The tournament will commence in Nevis this week Friday-18th May, with teams set to arrive on the island on Thursday 17th May.

On that same Thursday evening, an official opening ceremony will be held at NEPAC, in the Michael Herald Sutton auditorium, starting at 7.30 pm.

Minister of Sports, Hon. Eric Evelyn is set to declare the tournament open, with other brief presentations from LIMCA president, Mr. Alkins Rogers and representatives from all of the teams, followed by a cocktail.

Starting on Friday 18th May, two games will be played at the following venues, starting at 9.30 am and 2 pm respectively: ET Willet Park; VOJN grounds and the Brown Hill Recreation grounds.

Originally, due to some miscommunication, it was stated that the BVI team would not be coming but the BVI team has indeed confirmed its participation in the prestigious tournament, which features quite a number of former island representative players; a few players who have made it to the Leeward Islands team and even at least two players who have played test cricket previously, in Derrick Parry and Hamish Anthony.

The teams and zones are confirmed as follows:

Zone A: Defending champions St. Thomas; host island Nevis; St. Croix and BVI

Zone B: Antigua & Barbuda; Anguilla; St. Kitts and St. Maarten.

This year, each team has been asked to bring along an umpire and each game will be officiated by neutral umpires.

Coach of the Nevis team, Eustace Johnson has indicated that the Nevis squad will be finalized after the practice session, slated for the VOJN grounds, this afternoon.

The general public is urged to come out in their numbers to witness exciting cricket at its very best, starting on Friday.

You might also like