Trinidad and Tobago and St Kitts-Nevis to co-host 2016 Super50

ST JOHN’S, Antigua — The 2016 NAGICO Super50 tournament will be co-hosted in Trinidad and Tobago and St Kitts and Nevis starting on Thursday, January 7, in the two countries.

cricket_icon.jpg The tournament will have 27 matches over 18 days in the biggest, senior regional domestic 50-overs-a-side competition ever to be staged by the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB).

Defending champions and co-host, Trinidad and Tobago Red Force, will open their account against the Jamaica Scorpions in a Zone A encounter; while Barbados Pride will face newcomers, ICC Americas. In the other group, beaten finalist Guyana Jaguars will face the Windward Islands Volcanoes; while the Leeward Islands Hurricanes will face the CCC Marooners in St Kitts and Nevis

In the preliminary round, each team is scheduled to play six matches in a non-elimination format and top two teams in each zone will move to the semi-finals due to start, Wednesday, January 20, in Trinidad at the Queen’s Park Oval. Winners from the semis will then play in the final on Saturday, January 23, also at the Queen’s Park Oval.

Last year’s final was a one-sided affair when the Red Force clobbered the Jaguars by a 135-run margin.

Match Schedule

Group A – Trinidad and Tobago Red Force, Jamaica Scorpions, Barbados Pride, ICC Americas

Group B – Guyana Jaguars, CCC Marooners, Windward Islands Volcanoes, Leeward Islands Hurricanes

Opening Matches — Thursday, January 7

Red Force vs Scorpions – Queen’s Park Oval – TT (1:30 pm)

Pride vs Americas – UWI SPEC TT – 9:00 am

Jaguars vs Volcanoes – St Paul’s – SKN – 9:00 am

Hurricanes vs Marooners – Warner Park – SKN – 1:30 pm

You might also like