Undefeated Seventh Day Adventist crowned Primary School Football Champions (Sports Department-St. Kitts)

The Seventh Day Adventist Primary School defeated Tucker Clarke Primary School 3-2 in penalties and gained their first ever National Bank Primary School Football Championship trophy on Friday at Warner Park. At halftime the score was 0-0 before Vyhonrai Francis broke the deadlock for Tucker Clarke shortly after the break. Seventh Day Adventist quickly equalized from the boot of Quiyah Henry-Thomas.

The battle for the lead continued for several minutes with near missed opportunities for both teams. Cleondre Vanterpool sent the Newtown fans in a frenzy when Tucker Clarke took a 2-1 lead with 5 minutes remaining in regulation time. The never give attitude of the undefeated Seventh Day Adventist proved rewarding for them when captain Devaughn Mills scored the equalizing goal sending the game to extra time. At the end of regulation and extra time the score remained 2-2. The match however was decided on penalties with Seventh Day Adventist winning 3-2 over Tucker Clarke Primary. Seventh Day Adventist went undefeated during the tournament and is the first private school to win this football championship.

In the 3rd and 4th place match, St. Pauls Primary won handsomely 5-1 over Deane Glasford Primary. Goal scorers for St. Pauls Primary were Quasim Greene (one goal) and 2 each from Kevroy Nolan and Tijohn Freeman. Kevin Simmonds scored the lone goal for Deane Glasford.

Prizes and Awards

Zone 1 Champions: Tucker Clarke Primary

Zone 2 Champions: Cayon Primary

Zone 3 Champions: Seventh Day Adventist

Zone 4 Champions: Beach Allen Primary

Most Outstanding Goalkeeper – Kia Trotman-Cayon Primary

Most Outstanding Defender – Alex Daniel-St. Pauls Primary

Most Outstanding Midfielder – Devaughn Mills – Seventh Day Adventist

Most Outstanding Female: Jazzarah Claxton-Bronte Welsh Primary

Most Goals and Most Valuable Player – Vhonrai Francis (23 goals) – Tucker Clarke Primary

Champions: Seventh Day Adventist

Runners Up: Tucker Clarke Primary

Third Place: St. Pauls Primary

Fourth Place: Deane Glasford Primary

The Department of Sports expresses its sincerest gratitude to the Board of Directors, Management and Staff of the St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla National Bank for its continued investment and sponsorship, Ministry of Education, Principals and Staff, SKNFA, All Media entity, Parents, Coaches, Bus drivers, volunteers and fans for your support during the Primary School football tournament and wish you very Merry Christmas and a productive 2018.

You might also like