West Indies Name 18-Member Squad for Training Camp Ahead of ODI & T20i Series Against Ireland

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua – The Cricket West Indies (CWI) Women’s Selection Panel today announced the preliminary squad of players who will participate in a training camp in preparation for the upcoming six-match Series against Ireland Women.

The training camp will be held at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground in St. Lucia from 14 to 21 June, where the players will have training and fitness sessions as well as strategic preparations for the three-match CG United One Day International (ODI) Series. The CG United ODI Series will be played from 26 June to 1 July and is the West Indies Women’s third series in the ICC Women’s Championship, where the top five teams in the ten-team league qualify automatically for the 2025 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup.

The preliminary squad includes a mix of experienced players and promising young talents. Cherry-Ann Fraser returns to add depth and experience to the team’s bowling attack after missing the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup due to injury. Left-handed allrounder Qiana Joseph, who last played international cricket in 2021, also returns to the training camp squad. She was among the leading players in the recent Women’s CG United Super50 Cup and the T20 Blaze played in St Kitts.

Several West Indies Rising Stars Under-19 players have been included in the preliminary squad. Zaida James, Jannillea Glasgow, Djenaba Joseph, Shunelle Sawh, and Under-19s captain Ashmini Munisar have all earned their place in the squad. Their inclusion reflects CWI’s commitment to developing younger talent and expanding the Women’s talent pool by providing opportunities for younger players to showcase their skills at the international level.

CWI’s Lead Selector for Women’s cricket Ann Browne-John said:

“The series against Ireland is an important one for the West Indies Women as the team seeks to build points to qualify directly for the 2025 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup. It also serves as a perfect opportunity to continue to expose younger players to international cricket. This was a policy that the CWI embarked upon which resulted in Under 19 players being selected to the team for the England Series in December and the ICC T20 World Cup in February.”
Browne-John added:

“This is now being taken one step further and there are five players who participated in the ICC Women’s Under 19 T20 World Cup in January, now in the squad preparing for the series against Ireland. This means that there are some senior players who are not able to get a place in the squad at this time. The Selection Panel however believes that this squad has a good mix of youth and experience as we continue to build the West Indies team of the future.”
The Women’s Selection Panel will announce the official West Indies Women’s squad ahead of the three-match CG United ODI Series, with the T20I squad announced later.


Hayley Matthews – Captain
Shemaine Campbelle – Vice Captain
Aaliyah Alleyne
Shamilia Connell
Afy Fletcher
Cherry Ann Fraser
Shabika Gajnabi
Jannillea Glasgow
Chinelle Henry
Zaida James
Djenaba Joseph
Qiana Joseph
Mandy Mangru
Ashmini Munisar
Karishma Ramharack
Shunelle Sawh
Stafanie Taylor
Rashada Williams
Full match schedule:

All matches at Daren Sammy Cricket Ground, Gros Islet, St. Lucia

Monday 26 June: 1st CG United ODI – 10 am (9 am Jamaica Time)

Wednesday 28 June: 2nd CG United ODI – 10 am (9 am Jamaica Time)

Saturday 1 July: 3rd CG United ODI – 3 pm (2 pm Jamaica Time)

Tuesday 4 July: 1st T20I – 5 pm (4 pm Jamaica Time)

Thursday 6 July: 2nd T20I – 5 pm (4 pm Jamaica Time)

Saturday 8 July: 3rd T20I – 5 pm (4 pm Jamaica Time)


You might also like