WICB Announces Test Squad To South Africa

WICB Media Release

ST JOHN’S, Antigua (WICB) — The West Indies Cricket Board Selection Panel today announced the West Indies Test Squad for the tour of South Africa which includes three Test matches.

The squad is as follows:
Denesh Ramdin – Captain
Sulieman Benn
Jermaine Blackwood
Kraigg Braithwaite
Darren Bravo
Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Sheldon Cottrell
Shannon Gabriel
Christopher Gayle
Jason Holder
Leon Johnson
Denesh Ramdin
Kemar Roach
Marlon Samuels
Jerome Taylor
Chadwick Walton

Chairman of Selectors Clive Lloyd commented, “Of course at all times the Selection Panel aims to select the best and strongest team available. We look forward to this squad giving a good account of themselves for the three Tests in South Africa.”

“There is a significant amount of international cricket to be played over the next six months, including Test matches against some of the higher ranked teams in world cricket and as such it would be critical for the squad to get off on a positive note in South Africa,” Lloyd added.

“Specifically we have selected young fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell who is a good prospect. The Selection Panel is looking to introduce players such as Cottrell who can contribute in moving West Indies cricket forward,” Lloyd explained.

All players selected have been notified of their selection and that their selection is contingent upon their signing of the Match Tour Contract which was sent to each player selected on Tuesday November 11.

The deadline for the return of signed Match Tour Contracts to the WICB is 5pm (ECT), Tuesday, November 18.

The West Indies Test Squad is scheduled to depart the Caribbean on November 30, 2014.
West Indies Tour of South Africa Schedule
December 17-21 – First Test – Super Sport Park
December 26-30 – Second Test – St George’s Park
January 2-6 – Third Test – Centurion

January 9 – First T20I – Newlands
January 11 – Second T20I – Wanderers
January 14 – Third T20I – Kingsmead

January 16 – First ODI – Kingsmead
January 18 – Second ODI – New Wanderers
January 21 – Third ODI – Buffalo Park
January 25 – Fourth ODI – St George’s
January 28 – Fifth ODI – Super Sport Park

You might also like