Brooks To Replace Hetmyer in The West Indies Squad for The Upcoming ICC T20 World Cup in Australia

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua – Cricket West Indies (CWI) has today informed the International Cricket Council (ICC) that Shamarh Brooks has replaced Shimron Hetmyer in the West Indies Squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup in Australia.

The decision by the CWI Selection Panel was made as Shimron Hetmyer missed his re-scheduled flight to Australia, which had been changed from Saturday 1 October at his request, due to family reasons. With flight availability a real challenge, a seat was found for him to leave Guyana today, Monday 3 October, meaning he would, unfortunately, miss the 1st T20 International (T20I) against Australia on Wednesday 5 October at the Metricon Stadium. This morning, Mr. Hetmyer, informed the Director of Cricket that he would not be able to get to the airport in time for his flight this afternoon to New York.

“This afternoon we informed the CWI Board of Directors that the Selection Panel had unanimously decided to replace Shimron Hetmyer with Shamarh Brooks in our T20 World Cup squad. Whilst we changed Shimron’s flight from Saturday to Monday due to family reasons, it was made clear to him that if there were any further delays and issues with his travel to Australia then we would have no choice but to replace him in the squad, as we are not prepared to compromise the team’s ability to prepare for this extremely important global event.”
Adams added:

“Shamarh has been a part of our recent T20 International squads and delivered strong performances in the latter stages of the recently concluded CPL. He will fly out as soon as possible this week to Australia and I wish him and all the squad all the very best for the Tournament.”


T20 International Series, Australia vs West Indies

October 5: 1st T20I, Australia vs West Indies, Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

October 7: 2nd T20I, Australia vs West Indies, The Gabba, Brisbane

ICC Men’s T20 WORLD CUP 2022, Australia

Round 1 – Groups

Group A: Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates, the Netherlands, and Namibia
Group B: Scotland, West Indies, Zimbabwe, and Ireland

(Top two teams from each group advance to Super 12s)

Round 1 – Match Schedule (all played at Bellerive Oval, Hobart).

October 17: West Indies v Scotland, 15h00 Australia time, 00h00 Eastern Caribbean time, 23h00 Jamaica time (16 October)

October 19: West Indies v Zimbabwe, 19h00 Australia time, 04h00 Eastern Caribbean time, 03h00 Jamaica time

October 21: West Indies v Ireland, 15h00 Australia time, 00h00 Eastern Caribbean time, 23h00 Jamaica time (20 October)

Super 12s

Group 1: England, Australia, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A1, and B2.

Group 2: India, Pakistan, Pakistan, South Africa, A2, and B1.

(Top two teams from each group advance to the semi-finals)


November 9: SCG, Sydney

November 10: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide


November 13: MCG, Melbourne

You might also like