Cricket : Kieran Is Really Back

The West Indies cricket selectors made the call for the 13 man squad for the upcoming Betway test series versus South Africa, on Tuesday 8th June.
Many Nevisians waited with bated breaths, hoping and wondering if Kieran Powell’s recent performances in the Best v Best practice match for the Windies squad, was enough to get him into the 13 member squad.

The good news is that it certainly was.

According to the chief selector, Roger Harper:
“Kieran Powell we know is a very capable batsman who we expect to add quality and depth to the batting department. He put himself in the mix with his performance in the Best v Best match….”

Kieran has so far played 40 test matches; has batted in 76 innings, with 1 not out and has scored 2,011 runs, at an average of 26. 81.

He has made 3 test centuries, with the highest score of 134

The full Windies 13 man squad:
Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Jermaine Blackwood (vice-captain), Nkrumah Bonner, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua da Silva, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales
Left out: Darren Bravo, Jomel Warrican, Jahmar Hamilton and Shannon Gabriel, who is injured

West Indies and South Africa will face off in 2 Tests and 5 T20Is in the upcoming series in the Caribbean Islands. Both teams played against each other in January 2015. The last time South Africa played a Test in West Indies was way back in the year 2010.
Daren Sammy Stadium at St Lucia will host both the Tests while Grenada National Cricket Stadium will host the five-match T20I series.
The first Test will begin on June 10 while the second Test is scheduled to start on June 18.
South Africa is currently ranked No.7 in the ICC Test rankings with 80 rating points just below West Indies (84 rating points). A Test series win will guarantee South Africa the No.6 spot in the points table.
Meanwhile, in the T20I rankings – South Africa are placed at No.6 with a rating of 248 points and West Indies are placed at No.10 with a rating of 222 points. The defending champions of the T20 World Cup can jump up to the No.6 spot by clean sweeping the series.
Test Series:
1st Test – June 10-14, Daren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia

2nd Test – June 18-22, Daren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia

T20I Series:
1st T201 – June 26, Grenada National Cricket Stadium
2nd T20I – June 27, Grenada National Cricket Stadium
3rd T20I – June 29, Grenada National Cricket Stadium
4th T20I – July 1, Grenada National Cricket Stadium
5th T20I – July 3, Grenada National Cricket Stadium
South Africa Test Squad:

Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma, Sarel Erwee, Quinton de Kock (wk), Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Marco Jansen, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Prenelan Subrayen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams

You might also like