Cricket : West Indies name Women’s U19 squad to face USA U19s in Florida

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – The Cricket West Indies (CWI) Women’s Selection Panel on Sunday announced the West Indies Women’s U19 squad for their upcoming five-match T20 International (T20I) Series against USA Women’s U19.

The two teams will meet at the Broward County Stadium in Florida from 8 to 14 August.

The 12-member squad will be led by Ashmini Munisar with Shalini Samaroo as the vice captain.

The selectors originally named 15 players but three were unable to secure traveling visas to make the tour. Munisar is a right-handed batter and off-spinner, while Samaroo is a left-handed batter and off-spinner.

The Head Coach is Steve Liburd, the former Leeward Islands batsman and West Indies Men’s U19s Assistant Coach; with Merissa Aguilleira, the former West Indies Women’s captain, as the Team Manager.

Both teams have qualified for the inaugural ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup taking place in South Africa in January 2023 and this upcoming series will be ideal preparation for the global event.

The first two games will be held under floodlights with 6:30 pm starting on Monday 8 August and Tuesday 9 August.

The remaining three matches in the series will all be daylight games with 10:30 am starts on Thursday 11 August and Friday 12 before the fifth and final match of the series on Sunday 14 August.

Ashmini Munisar (Captain)
Shalini Samaroo (Vice Captain)
Asabi Callender
Najanni Cumberbatch
Realeanna Grimmond
Zaida James
Djenaba Joseph
KD-Jazz Mitchell
Ashley Ramnath
Samara Ramnath
Shunelle Sawh
Kate Wilmot

Team Management
Steve Liburd (Head Coach)
Merissa Aguilleira (Team Manager)
Samantha Lynch (Assistant Coach)
Jamal Smith (Assistant Coach)
Asia Joseph (Strength & Conditioning Coach)
Tori-Ann Grant (Physiotherapist)

MATCH SCHEDULE – at Broward County Stadium
8 August: 1st Women’s U19 T20I – 6:30 pm (5:30 pm Jamaica)
9 August: 2nd Women’s U19 T20I – 6:30 pm (5:30 pm Jamaica)
11 August: 3rd Women’s U19 T20I – 10:30 am (9:30 am Jamaica)
12 August: 4th Women’s U19 T20I – 10:30 am (9:30 am Jamaica)
14 August: 5th Women’s U19 T20I – 10:30 am (9:30 am Jamaica)

You might also like